

ELECTIONS 2025

Science Committee

The committee consists of six members

Member	1 st term	2 nd term if re-elected	Chairman Term	Eligibility in 2025	Vacancy in 2025 Yes/No
Prof. Jeffrey A. Platt (Chair)	2019 - 2022	2022 - 2025	2023 - 2026	N/A	NO
Dr Wendy Thompson (Vice-chair)	2021 - 2024	2024 - 2027		N/A	NO
Prof. Dr Falk Schwendicke	2021 - 2024	2024 - 2027		N/A	NO
Dr Samira Osailan	2022 - 2025			YES	YES
Prof. Walter Yu Hang Lam	2023 - 2026			N/A	NO
Prof. Kivanç Bektas Kayhan	2024 - 2027			N/A	NO

There is one vacancy in the Science Committee

- In 2021 two members were elected by the General Assembly and two members by the Council.
- In 2022 Due to the resignation of one member in May, there were two vacancies. One member was elected by the General Assembly and one member by the Council. (Rotation in 2022 started with Council elections)
- In 2023 one member and the Chair were elected by the Council.
- In 2024 two members to be elected by the General Assembly and one member by the Council (rotation starting with the General Assembly election).
- In 2025 one member is to be elected by the Council.